Connect with us

Cleveland Indians

Tampa Bay’s Blake Snell wins AL Cy Young; Houston’s Justin Verlander, Cleveland Indians’ Corey Kluber round out top three finishers

CLEVELAND, Ohio — Indians right-hander Corey Kluber won 20 games for the first time in his career this year, but it wasn’t enough to secure his third AL Cy Young Award.

Tampa Bay lefty Blake Snell won the award followed by Houston’s Justin Verlander and Kluber. Trevor Bauer, Kluber’s teammate, finished sixth in voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Snell went 21-5 with a 1.89 ERA. He made 31 starts and struck out 221 batters in 180 2/3 innings. Verlander went 16-9 with a 2.52 ERA in 34 games. He pitched 214 innings and led the AL with 290 strikeouts.

Kluber won the Cy Young in 2014 and 2017. This year he went 20-7 with a 2.89 ERA. He led the AL with 215 innings and struck out 222 batters.

Snell won the award with 169 points, including 17 first-place votes, 11 second place and two third place. Verlander was second with 154 points, including 13 first-place votes, 13 second place, three third place and one fourth place. Kluber received 71 points, including four second-place votes, 12 third place, seven fourth place and five fifth place.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cleveland Indians