Connect with us

Cleveland Indians

Cleveland Indians’ Michael Brantley receives AL Comeback Player of the Year award

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Michael Brantley on Tuesday night was named AL Comeback Player of the Year by a vote of his peers in the 2018 Players Choice Awards.

Brantley hit .309 (176-for-570) with 35 doubles, 17 homers and 76 RBI for the Indians last season. In 2016 and 2017 Brantley played a total of 101 games because of surgery on his right shoulder and right ankle.

Near the end of the 2015 season Brantley injured his right shoulder trying to make a diving catch in left center at Target Field. He underwent two surgeries on the shoulder and was limited to just 11 games in 2016. He made the All-Star Game in 2017, but missed much of the second half of the season with an ankle injury that required surgery immediately after the Indians lost to the Yankees in the ALDS.

This year Brantley played 143 games for the Tribe, making his third All-Star Game, and posting a .832 OPS. Boston’s David Price and Oakland’s Edwin Jackson were the other finalists for the award.

Brantley is a free agent for the first time this winter after spending his first eight-plus years in the big leagues with the Indians. He is not expected to re-sign with the Tribe.

Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez was a finalist for the AL’s Outstanding Player. Boston’s Mookie Betts was the winner. J.D. Martinez, Betts’ teammate, was the other finalist.

Here are the other award winners:

*AL Outstanding Pitcher: Tampa Bay’s Blake Snell. Boston’s Chris Sale and Houston’s Justin Verlander were the other finalists.

*AL Outstanding Rookie: Miguel Andujar of the Yankees. Shohei Ohtani of the Angels and Gleyber Torres of the Yankees were the other finalists.

*NL Outstanding Player: Milwaukee’s Christian Yelich. Chicago’s Javier Baez and Colorado’s Trevor Story were the other finalists.

*NL Outstanding Pitcher: Jacob deGrom of the Mets. Washington’s Max Scherzer and Philadelphia’s Aaron Nola were the other finalists.

*NL Outstanding Rookie: Atlanta’s Ronald Acuna. Washington’s Juan Soto and Jack Flaherty of the Cardinals were the other finalists.

*NL Comeback Player: Matt Kemp of the Dodgers. Arizona’s Clay Buchholz and Miles Mikolas of the Cardinals were the other finalists.

*Marvin Miller Man of the Year award: Milwaukee’s Curtis Granderson. Arizona’s Paul Goldschmidt and Mike Trout of the Angels were finalists.

Granderson received $50,000 to donate to his favorite charity. The other eight winners received $20,000 to donate to their favorite charities.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cleveland Indians