Connect with us

Cleveland Indians

Cleveland Indians infielders Francisco Lindor and Jose Ramirez are back-to-back Silver Slugger Award winners

CLEVELAND, Ohio — Francisco Lindor and Jose Ramirez did not get the gold earlier this week, but on Thursday they both brought home some silver for the second straight year.

The Cleveland Indians infielders earned Louisville Silver Slugger Awards in the American League for 2018 based on their offensive productivity. Lindor and Ramirez were also finalists at their defensive positions for Rawlings Gold Glove Awards that were announced Sunday.

The Indians were among four teams with multiple Silver Slugger Award winners, including Boston, Houston, Colorado and Arizona.

Lindor and Ramirez become the first Indians duo to claim the honor in back-to-back seasons since Manny Ramirez and Roberto Alomar in 1999-2000. The duo combined for 77 home runs and 163 extra-base hits as the Indians won the American League Central Division title for the third straight year.

Lindor, a three-time All-Star at shortstop, saw his increased power numbers from 2017 carry over to this season. The 24-year-old upped his career-high home run total by five (38). He collected a career-best 183 hits, including 42 doubles and two triples. His home run total and extra-base hits (82) were club records for a middle infielder and the most by a major league shortstop in 10 seasons.

Among all-time MLB switch-hitting shortstops, Lindor’s 38 home runs ranks first, ahead of Jimmy Rollins (2007) and Jose Valentin (2004), who each hit 30. Lindor led the AL with 129 runs scored.

Lindor finished the season ranked tied for fourth in the AL in hits, tied for sixth in home runs, tied for first in runs scored, eighth overall in stolen bases and second overall in total bases.

Ramirez, 26, had a historic season, posting an OPS of .939 and career-highs in home runs (39), RBI (105) and walks (106). Selected to his second straight All-Star Game, Ramirez scored 110 runs and collected 156 hits.

Only four AL players have ever matched the 39 homers and 34 steals that Ramirez totaled in 2018. He became just the third player in Indians history with at least 30 home runs and 30 stolen bases, joining Joe Carter (1987) and Grady Sizemore (2008)

Here is the entire list of 2018 Silver Slugger Award winners.


Catcher: Salvador Perez (Royals). First base: Jose Abreu (White Sox). Second base: Jose Altuve (Astros). Third base: Jose Ramirez (Indians). Shortstop: Francisco Lindor (Indians). Outfield: Mookie Betts (Red Sox). Outfield: Mike Trout (Angels). Outfield & DH: J.D. Martinez (Red Sox).


Catcher: J.T. Realmuto (Marlins). First base: Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks). Second base: Javier Baez (Cubs). Third base: Nolan Arenado (Rockies). Shortstop: Trevor Story (Rockies). Outfield: Christian Yelich (Brewers). Outfield: Nick Markakis (Braves). Outfield: David Peralta (Diamondbacks). Pitcher: German Marquez (Rockies).

Silver Slugger Awards have honored the game’s best offensive players since 1980. Coaches and managers of MLB teams vote for players at their respective positions in each league based on batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage.

Coaches and managers are not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cleveland Indians