Connect with us

Cleveland Indians

Boston’s Mookie Betts, Milwaukee’s Christian Yelich runaway MVP winners; Cleveland Indians Jose Ramirez finishes third

CLEVELAND, Ohio — Nobody could touch Mookie Betts and Christian Yelich when it came to the MVP awards in the American and National leagues.

Boston’s Betts won the AL award with 28 of a possible 30 first-place votes, while Yelich won the NL award with 29 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers Association of America. The awards were announced on Thursday night on MLB Network.

Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez finished third in the AL voting for the second straight year. Teammates Francisco Lindor and Trevor Bauer received votes as well. Lindor finished sixth with 169 points and Bauer finished tied for 22nd with one 10th place vote.

Betts won with 410 points followed by 265 for Mike Trout. The Angels outfielder received one first-place vote, 24 second-place votes, one third and two fourth places.

Ramirez finished with 208 votes including one second-place vote, 10 thirds, 11 fourths, three fifths, four sixths and one seventh. Ramirez hit .270 (156-for-578) with 39 homers and 105 RBI. He became the third 30-30 man in team history, while scoring 110 runs and drawing 106 walks compared to 80 strikeouts.

If not for a 24-for-166 slump at the end of the season, Ramirez could have really put some heat on Betts and Trout. Betts, winner of the 10th MVP award in Boston history, led the big leagues with a .346 (180-for-520) average. He hit 32 homers with 80 RBI. Like Ramirez, he did 30-30, while tying Lindor for the MLB lead with 129 runs. Trout hit .312 with 39 homers and 79 RBI. He scored 101 runs and led the big leagues with a 1.088 OPS and a .460 on base percentage.

Betts, Trout, Ramirez and Lindor were among the AL players named on all 30 ballots. Boston, besides Betts, was well represented with J.D. Martinez, Xander Bogaerts and Chris Sale receiving votes. Martinez finished fourth and captured the one remaining first-place vote..

Yelich won the MVL in his first year with the Brewers. They acquired him in a trade with Miami last winter. He hit .326 to win the NL batting title along with 36 homers and 110 RBI. He led the NL with a .598 slugging percentage and a 1.000 OPS. It’s the fourth time a Brewer has won the MVP. Ryan Braun won it in 2011 and Robin Yount was honored in 1982 and 1989 when Milwaukee played in the AL.

After it was announced that Yelich had won, he was interviewed on MLB Network. Asked who was at his MVP party at his home in California, Yelich said one of the guests was Browns quarterback Baker Mayfield.

Chicago shortstop Javier Baez finished second. He hit .290 with 34 homers and an NL-leading 111 RBI. Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado hit .297 with an NL-leading 38 homers and 110 RBI to finish third.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cleveland Indians